This is the "Middle School" page of the "STAR (Students and Teachers Accessing Resources) ecard" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

STAR (Students and Teachers Accessing Resources) ecard  

Online resources available from school, the library or home to Lincoln County students who participate in the STAR program.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2017 URL: http://lincolncounty.libguides.com/STAR_ecard Print Guide RSS Updates

Middle School Print Page
  Search: 
 

History & Biography

  • American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography  
      
    Life histories of former slaves compiled from 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
  • DigitalNC
    Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
  • Films on Demand
    Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Searchable collection of online reference titles.
  • MyiLibrary
    Online books on a variety of topics including art, language learning, medical, health, history, and more.
  • NC LIVE Video Collection
    PBS Video Collection via NC LIVE
  • North American Women's Letters and Diaries
    Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
  • OneClick Audio
    Downloadable audio books on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players.
  • ProQuest Military
    Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
  • SIRS Knowledge Source
    Articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework.

Laguange Arts

Art

  • ArtNC
    Search art and lessons by concepts such as history, themes, location, and style.
  • History of Visual Arts = ebooks
    Use this search for links to books about the history of visual arts.

TumbleBooks

  • TumbleBooks
    TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated,
    talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they'll love.
 

Search the Lincoln County Public Library Catalog

Search for:
Search by:

 

Foreign Languages

Pronunciator

Homework Help

  • LearningExpress Library
    Practice tests and self-paced courses for students & adult learners. ASVAB, GED, GRE, SAT, resume and cover letter writing courses and more.
  • Pronunciator
    Language learning for 80 languages and ESL for 50 non-English languages, including audio lessons, interactive textbooks, quizzes, phrasebooks and pronunciation analysis. Users must create a personal account to use this resource.
  • ArtNC
    An educational resource from the North Carolina Museum of Art. Explore works of art that are teachable across disciplines and grade levels. Includes lesson plans, concept maps and portfolios.
  • ebrary Academic and Public Library Complete
    Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
  • InfoTrac Newsstand
    Full text access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national, international and local newspapers, as well as thousands of images and radio and TV transcripts. Includes full text of The New York Times (1985-present).
  • MyiLibrary
    Online books on a variety of topics including art, language learning, medical, health, history, and more.
  • NC LIVE Video Collection
    PBS Video Collection via NC LIVE
  • OneClick Audio
    Downloadable audio books on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players.
  • OneClick eBooks
    Over 80 classic fiction titles available for checkout and download.
  • ProQuest Education Journals
    Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
  • Science in Context
    Reference content, plus magazines, journals, news sources, experiments, and more, covering earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biography.
  • SIRS Knowledge Source
    Articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework.

Math

 

Even more resources at your library

Cover Art
Overdrive
Parents and Teachers download ebooks and audiobooks for little ones to enjoy to a mobile device or computer. Simply select Kid's fiction or Kid's non-fiction then limit by reading level pre-kindergarten.

Cover Art
music
Download those children friendly songs that every child loves to sing along with. Just go to Genres and select Children's music to get a full list of artists and albums.

Cover Art
NCKids
NCKids is a collection of eBooks, audiobooks, and streaming video all age appropriate for kids.

Cover Art
Zinio magazines
Downloadable magazines.

Cover Art
Novelist Plus
With Novelist students, parents and teachers have the ability to find materials and resources age appropriate based on the Core Curriculum. It also offers read-a-like suggests to expand reading based on series, author, and/or plot of the books and authors you currently enjoy. Novelist is a great tool to help grow your love of reading.

 

Search all Resources at the Lincoln County Public Library

Search all Lincoln County Public Library resources:

Battle of the Books 2017-2018

 

All books can be found either at your Local Library or through Overdrive.

Current Issues

  • CQ Researcher Online
    Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
  • CQ Weekly
    News and analysis on how legislation is shaped. Coverage of bills, votes, amendments, committees, and more.
  • eBooks on EBSCOhost
    Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
  • NC LIVE Video Collection
    PBS Video Collection via NC LIVE
  • New York Times
    Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current).
  • ProQuest Newsstand
    News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
  • SIRS Knowledge Source
    Articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework.

Science & Technology

  • ebrary Academic and Public Library Complete
    Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Searchable collection of online reference titles.
  • NC LIVE Video Collection
    PBS Video Collection via NC LIVE
  • ProQuest Biology Journals
    Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
  • ProQuest Career & Technical Education
    Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
  • ProQuest Science Journals
    Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
  • ProQuest Telecommunications
    Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.
  • Science in Context
    Reference content, plus magazines, journals, news sources, experiments, and more, covering earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biography.
  • SIRS Knowledge Source
    Articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip